What to do with Teenage Fashion Police

The Demon Child, my darling daughter, has been giving me fashion advice ever since she turned thirteen, whether I want it or not, and let me tell you, usually I don’t.

Sometimes it’s general, like:  “Ewww Mom, why are you wearing THAT?!” (what my jeans,  raincoat or scarf ???) andMom, that’s SO obnoxious!” (sorry, I like to wear colours other than black, black or black.)

Sometimes it’s specific, like: “Oh my god, Mom, only Hilary Duff wears white jeans!” (not according to Vogue) and “don’t wear Juicy Couture outside the house or around my friends” (I only wear the comfy track pants and hoody in the house – honest! As for the friends – I’m sure they’ve seen worse.)

This summer it was: “Mom, do NOT wear a bikini!”  And why not?

Just because” – I thought that was a mother’s refrain

Mom, you have a tummy” –  newsflash dear, so do you. Regardless, mine is teeny, tiny – really!

You’re too old  – since when? Helen Mirren and Jerry Hall still do and besides, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. (now I sound just like my own mother)

But wait a minute…I read Vogue and Bazaar and Elle and keep up on trends and styles. I walk the dog in the canyon several times a week for an hour at a time. I take advanced pilates &/or reformer classes three times a week. I eat well, don’t smoke and enjoy a glass of wine or two with dinner. I am slim and healthy… and middle aged.

So for our summer family trip, I  packed my one-piece swimsuit and tankini …along with the my sexy string bikini 🙂

Really.

7 thoughts on “What to do with Teenage Fashion Police

  1. Absolutely – been there and done that! (and received a BIG lecture) However, she seems to have no worries about taking any of my things. I just figure I can never win with her, and maybe that’s ok.

  2. Pingback: Christie Russell: What’s Mine Is Mine and What’s Yours Is Ours | Screw Cable

  3. Pingback: Christie Russell: What’s Mine Is Mine and What’s Yours Is Ours | Hot Searches Today

Leave a Reply

