The joys of parenting when you’re in…advanced middle age

I am rather chagrined to admit that dealing with a baby after so many years, at my stage in life (more than 29, more than 39, heck even…okay, I’m going to stop while I’m ahead!) has proven to be a bit more challenging than expected.

Surprisingly enough, the tons of help EVERYONE in my family promised has yet to materialize. Conveniently the Obnoxious One is at university in Ontario, which does  make taking care of midnight calls for attention a wee bit difficult. The Demon Child magically disappears into the deep dark cave she calls her room anytime I suggest there is something to be done.  After 12 to 15 hours in the office when he finally arrives home, the Original Obnoxious One plays dumb  – is that a puddle on the floor? No dear, it’s a magic lake that will disappear on its own shortly.

Somehow I forgot the many challenges and delights of having a young one in the family, such as:

  • the mess of toys, shoes and paper everywhere
  • the full face wet kisses
  • the exact science and higher learning involved in teaching NO
  • the wrestling with anyone or anything at absolutely any hour of the day or night
  • the moaning and the groaning and the whining when wishes are denied
  • the excitement when I come home after being away for a couple of hours
  • the inability to leave my side even for a moment, even when I have to take a shower or use the toilet
  • the press of the warm, floppy body against my own
  • the accidents in the house – little lakes and little piles discreetly hidden just for my pleasure
  • the absolute certainty on that cute little face that you are THE most important person in the whole wide world.

The wonder of the five month old male puppy.

Really.

3 thoughts on “The joys of parenting when you’re in…advanced middle age

Leave a Reply

