Finally…a thank you!

Since I’ve had my nose to the grindstone the past couple of weeks, I’ve definitely neglected my blog here. Back to school, sick doggies and massive rewrites of my children’s novel seem to take up all my time these days. So first, let’s catch up on a belated thank you to the wonderful She Can’t Be Serious, for nominating me for …

The Kreativ Blogger Award

She Can’t Be Serious a very funny, very sarcastic blog, and I’m thrilled to be acknowledged by her.  Make sure you check her out!

The rules:

1. Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to the awarding
blog.  Thanks, She Can’t be Serious!
2. Answer 7 questions about yourself.
3. Provide 10 random factoids
about yourself.
4. Hand the award to 7 deserving others.

The questions:

1.  What is your favorite song?  Will I sound really lame if I say anything by Adele? Otherwise favourites include Moondance by Van Morrison and Moon over Bourbon Street and Fragile by Sting

2.  What is your favorite dessert?  I’m not a dessert gal ( I prefer wine), but I do like the our family’s secret chocolate fudge recipe when I’m feeling in need. And dark Toblerone.

3.  What do you do when you’re upset?  Yell, scream, slam doors, although lately I’ve been trying to act like a grown-up so I just stamp my feet.

4.  What is your favorite pet?  My yellow labs – big surprise I’m sure. 🙂

5.  Which do you prefer, white or whole wheat?  Whole wheat, preferably with lots of other grains and the more seeds the better. Really!

6.  What is your biggest fear?  That my novel won’t get published. In the meantime, here’s a little excerpt:

When Mom picked me up from school that afternoon all she wanted to talk about was how wonderful the school was, how important first impressions were and how I really needed to try hard at school this year. Geez, the stuff parents say. My mom, the super serious lawyer- trained brainiac had told me this stuff so so so many times this past summer. For a smart lady sometimes she acted pretty dumb.

“Remember Queenie,” she said, while driving down the big hill towards home. “Let’s try not to get into trouble at this school.”

I rolled my eyes and corrected her. “Mom, I never try to get into trouble. Sometimes trouble just happens. And sometimes it sticks to me, you know, like gum on the bottom of your shoe. Nobody wants gum there, but sometimes you just end up with it.”

7.  What is your attitude mostly?  Generally positive except when my daughter &/or husband give(s) me too much sass. Then look out! – I can hold a grudge for a long time.

Ten Random Factoids About Me

  1. My husband is an only child, which has made the past 27 years exciting, and sometimes rather challenging – oops just kidding darling. Everything is always wonderful as long as he is always right…which is always!?
  2. When we first got married, my husband wanted as many children as possible – “at least 9 or 10”. After having 1 and being pregnant with the 2nd, he tried very very hard to convince me  that 2 was a really good number. Turns out he was right – in terms of both kids and dogs.
  3. My daughter was diagnosed with ADHD at age 9 – after doing a ton of research, my husband & I concluded that she got it from him. Even though she has largely outgrown many of her symptoms, there is never a dull moment in our house.
  4. My kids are total apple fans – ipods, iphones and ibooks, while my husband & I like our blackberries and our PC’s. Okay, we are partial to our ipods as well.
  5. I’m a huge fan of fiction – historical, thriller, fantasy –  and have read a ton of books lately, but not updated my Have You Read page. On my to-do list.
  6. I don’t like reality shows, except for The Real Housewives of Vancouver and the Liquidator.   and 
  7. As a kid I played classical piano for many, many years — Mozart and Beethoven and Bach and Debussy and more. I played in music festivals and High School concerts and took many written and performance exams. We’ve had a piano in our home for over twenty years, but I haven’t played it in…a very long time. I also played clarinet and acoustic guitar. My daughter took piano lessons for a few years but that was a disaster since she never wanted to practice and it was just another thing for us to fight about. Now she’s mad that I let her quit!
  8. We have a tiny cabin “off the grid” up Indian Arm – no electricity or phone and boat access only. (We do have solar panels & a generator and we get our water from the creek behind us) The foundation is rotten and has been under construction the past two years so I haven’t been up at all this summer. Here’s what it looked like kayaking last summer – heavenly!
  9. As I write this my husband is in Beverly Hills and I am at home. Then he goes to Calgary and Saskatoon, and I will be home. Then he goes to Miami and I go to…Surrey (Surrey in BC not Britain) Hmmm…I’m not jealous or anything though…not really.
  10. Our outdoor renovations are almost done, almost. Only took 7 months to do a 2 month job. No big deal. Not really. Well yeah, actually.

    our driveway in May

our driveway end of August

So now for the deserving ones. As usual I’m going to provide a random list of blogs I follow,some funny and some informative.

dirtyrottenparenting – very funny

crappypictures – she has a real knack of putting a funny spin on the everyday

thewaiting – sweet and smart but not too much – always enjoyable and well written

talesfromthemotherland – a plethora of thoughts from a smart lady going a million miles an hour

Carly Waters, Literary Agent Blog – very informative

A Detailed House – tons of inspiration on decorating, DIY projects and more

Angelhorn – thoughts on writing

Strocel.com – a crunchy granola mom from Vancouver (her words not mine :))

But now, back to the grindstone – The Trouble With Queenie is calling me now. Really!

4 thoughts on “Finally…a thank you!

    • We still need to get pots and plant material to finish off the front of the house – then I’ll do a big before and after post.
      You beat me to it – but just to make it official, I nominate you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

