I really should give up and become a hermit – officially!

Do you ever have one of those days where nothing goes quite right, where nothing feels quite right? It’s not that every little thing is a disaster , but…

Last week I had one of those days.On the surface there was nothing to complain about, since we’ve had perfect early fall weather here in Vancouver.


One evening my hubby and I were invited to a black tie function honouring the top business leaders in town,which included a couple friends and business colleagues.  I had to be downtown by 5:45 pm to meet my husband at the new Trade and Convention Center, a spectacular venue. I needed to leave home between 5:00 and 5:15 to be on time, and figured that would be no problem. Absolutely none.

Yeah right!

I seemed to be very busy that day – of course, now, I can’t remember what crisis in particular I was dealing with, but I’m positive it was something really, really important. Totally! But I had already determined what I was wearing – a long black gown I’d bought a few years ago, worn a couple of times, and received plenty of complements on.

Yup, I looked just like this…minus the slit, and the hair, and the figure

So I figured that half an hour was tons of time to get ready. I showered, put my dress on, started my makeup,

courtesy iclipart.com

then went downstairs to the kitchen for a glass of water. There I found a lake of nasty stuff  deposited by one of the dogs by the back sliding glass door. Really. I wonder if Jennifer has to do these kind of things?! Of course, I was the only one home, so had to clean up the lovely mess in high heels, long dress and all.

The dogs supervised of course.

Delightful.That rattled my bones…a little bit. Just a little bit.

So I decided I should wear the tennis bracelet my husband gave me for my 40th birthday. It may be stunning and expensive, but truly it has major sentimental value. Because we’ve had a ton of construction in and our our home the past several months, I’d stuck it away somewhere. I couldn’t remember exactly where, but figured it shouldn’t be too hard to find.

  • I looked through my drawers in my closet – no luck.
  • I looked through my husband’s drawers in our closet – no luck
  • I looked through my bedside table – nothing
  • I looked through my husband’s bedside table – nothing
  • l searched through all the other sweater and sweatpants and scarf drawers in our room – nada
  • I searched through all of our shoes – nada
  • I even broke open our safe – after spending 30 minutes trying to figure out how to open it. Of course it wasn’t there either.

By this time it was starting to get late. I called a cab and applied the last of my makeup. Midway through application of the ultra-important under-eye concealer/miracle worker, the concealer slipped through my fingers and danced down the front of my dress. Which I’d just paid megabucks to have cleaned. Sigh.

Well I did eventually make it to the event, even though the cab picked me up at 5:40. So yeah, I was just a teeny bit late. And despite there being 1400 people in the room, I did find my husband and did chat with a few colleagues. Unfortunately our friends didn’t win, but we did have a very nice evening with lots of great discussion,food and wine. When we got home I went up to my daughter’s room to say good-night.

The Demon Child took one look at me and said, “Oh Mom, you didn’t wear that tonight, did you? No, no, no Mom! Well, I always hang out in a long black dress just like Jennifer Aniston. Duh! “Mom, that’s not becoming at all. You should’ve worn something else! You’re way too old for that!”

Thank you darling. These are exactly the words every mother over a certain age wants to hear…especially from their own beautiful teenage daughter. I should have said this. I might have thought this.

But I didn’t. Nope – instead…

courtesy iclipart.com

The Wicked Witch of the West returned ( see Watch Out for the Wicked Witch of the West) and said several absolutely positively TERRIBLE things to the Demon Child.Then she took off on her broomstick. But the damage was done. So the next day I had a ton of apologizing and sucking up to do.

Menopause is soooo lovely. Really!

P.S. I did find my bracelet the very next day…after I tore my bedroom apart once again.

5 thoughts on “I really should give up and become a hermit – officially!

    • Thanks, my husband thought I looked “fine” 😉 I did find the bracelet in between my hubby’s sweat pants and as for the Demon Child…sigh…we have good days and then we have challenging days.

  1. I am sure you looked amazing – even with the dancing concealer clean-up. I am so relieved you found your bracelet – I have almost panic attacks when I can’t find important things like that! I am so proud of the dogs and all of the help they added to your get-out-of-the-house-ontime-for-the-event. 😉

    • Thank you very much! And yes, I really don’t know what I’d do without the amazing help of my trusty dogs. Now if I’d stuck the bracelet in the peanut butter jar I would’ve found it much sooner with their help!

  2. Pingback: I Love Grade 12. I Love Grade 12. I Love Grade 12. | Rita's Reflections – Keeping it Real in West Van

Leave a Reply

