Don’t call me Kate!

So my darling daughter, the Weird One came home from school the other day rather annoyed. She had one heck of a problem. 😉

“Mom, I went to the washroom today and there were two LG’s in there who started talking to me – I think they were in Grade 10, but I don’t really know.”

In case you’re not up on the latest teenage lingo, “LG” means “little girl”, and of course being all of 17 years old in Grade 12 means my daughter is just so so so mature. Right…and if you believe that one,…

“That’s nice dear” – always the supportive mom, that’s me

” Anyways they thought I look like Kate Middleton.” – she uttered in disgusted tone of voice

courtesy zimbio.com

courtesy zimbio.com

“Well that’s really very nice darling.”

“No, it’s not. I’m upset! I’m insulted!”

“What are you talking about?!” Is she crazy or has she totally lost it?! I would be thrilled  to be told I looked like Kate Middleton – the hair, the figure, the face…

“Mom, Kate Middleton is SO old. She’s like…30. She’s ancient!” Right, 30 is practically over the hill. What does that make 50? – second thought, I don’t want to know.

“Oh, um, well, I’m sure those girls meant it as a compliment, you know.” It’s official – my daughter is totally certifiable! ” So darling, who do you think is attractive? Who would you like to be compared to?”

“Well, first of all I don’t want to be compared to anyone – I just want to look like myself, NOT somebody else.”DSC_0485Okay, I take all that back – my daughter is brilliant and amazing and…“But if I wanted to look like somebody, it would be Zooey Deschanel. She’s SO great!”

Oh…okay…I get it…I think. Zooey is very quirky – she’s definitely a unique individual with a mind of her own. That’s good, right?

courtesy fox.com

courtesy fox.com

Being the anal, research-oriented, analytical mother that I am, I did an extensive Google search on Zooey and Kate. Guess what? Turns out that Zooey is actually older than Kate – by 2 whole years! Which is totally significant when you’re 17. The Weird One’s response?

“Oh, yeah Mom. Whatever…”

Apparently Kate and Zooey issues were SO yesterday. I guess that since I’m a wee bit older than 30, I have trouble keeping up.

Really!IMG_1956

 

Leave a Reply

