So how was your weekend?

Just super…as in super awful.

How often do you an answer the truth when someone asks that question? I mean, who  wants to admit that they had a lousy weekend? But yeah, I did and I’ve had a few actually. But this past one was over the top. Why? Well first of all, it was my daughter’s grad weekend, as in commencement. So that should be blissfully wonderful and charmingly emotional, right?

courtesy iclipart.com

courtesy iclipart.com

Well that would be totally wrong.

First of all my daughter, the Demon Child, didn’t want to go, because she is one of almost 400 kids in her grade, of which she knows maybe a dozen; afterall, she’s only attended this particular high school for 2 years. But her friends guilted her into going, which of course meant my husband, the Original Obnoxious One, my son the Obnoxious One, and myself all had to go. At 10am on a Sunday morning across the Lions Gate Bridge through downtown to the Orpheum Theatre. Oh joy.

So of course I expected both of my children to be home reasonably early Saturday night so that they would not be over-tired Sunday morning. How silly of me – I really should know better by now. I stayed up until both of my little darlings were home safe and sound, which  meant that the three of us were very tired and very grumpy on Sunday.

In fact, the Demon Child was so tired Sunday morning that she slept in and missed her ride. Of course she had to come and wake me up and yell at me for ten minutes demanding I drive her there right away. While trying to decide how I could get her downtown and then back home to change and then head back over the bridge with the rest of my family. I went into her bedroom to discuss logistics, when low and behold, I spotted the horrendous, absolutely awful….TATTOO! She got a flippin’ tattoo on her left shoulder, and not a tiny itty bitty one,  but a big huge honkin’ one! One with a bunch of words – I was so so so angry that I couldn’t even read it! Yeah, I’m not a fan of tattoos, especially for teenagers who have plenty of time to change their mind in years to come.(My son succumbed to one a couple years ago. See Tattoo Schmatto)

Her explanation : Oh Mom, I got that ages ago…which simply wasn’t true because she didn’t have it at her grad banquet 2 weeks before.

Guess what my very calm and understated reaction was:

courtesy iclipart.com

courtesy iclipart.com

And I refused to drive her downtown and suggested she take a taxi, then made my way to the guest bedroom in the basement where I could rant and rave in peace.

courtesy iclipart.com

courtesy iclipart.com

As expected the ceremony was excruciatingly long and rather boring, but nevertheless well organized. After almost four hours, the four of us were desperate to get out of there, as well as desperately hungry and desperately tired. Which meant that we argued non-stop and almost didn’t make it to lunch. But we did and we did survive, until we got home when the situation deteriorated even more.

Because I became the most terrible parent in the world.

After all, I didn’t buy the Demon Child a grad present, even though the Demon Child agreed to forfeit one when she refused to complete Global Ed. (One of the threats/bribes offered – see What do you do when your kid is the most stubborn person.) And after all those flippin’ piercings (numerous ones in her ears, as well as belly button and tongue) and that friggin’ tattoo, I’m not feeling very generous. Besides, she’s taking the summer off to “unwind and destress” before she ventures to university in the UK in September. She’s quite hard done by as you can see.

We didn’t talk for a day or so, and are now on civil speaking terms…barely.

So what can I say except that it was a super awful weekend and I am now officially the Terrible Awful Mother.

courtesy iclipart.com

courtesy iclipart.com

Really!

4 thoughts on “So how was your weekend?

    • Yeah the good news is that things are slowly improving, and we’re starting to laugh again, like when she told me I was too old to wear short shorts and I told her that since she got a tattoo she could no longer comment on my wardrobe choices!

    • We’re on the same page here since there’s been no allowance for a few weeks now…and who knows when it will start again, if ever! She has a job interview this Friday which will be VERY good for her – at Fresh Market ;). Also, she got rid of the tongue piercing…baby steps but at least in the right direction this time!

Leave a Reply

